PhD students working in the area of Business Process Management (BPM) are invited to submit their proposals for participation in a Doctoral Consortium, which will be held on Sunday, 30 August, 2015, in conjunction with the 13th International Conference on Business Process Management (BPM 2015) in Innsbruck, Austria.

The Doctoral Consortium has the following objectives:

  • To provide valuable feedback on students’ research methods and plans
  • To provide helpful guidance on students’ research directions and topics
  • To promote the development of a community of scholars that will help students in their future careers
  • To provide students with opportunities to meet and interact with experienced researchers in the area of BPM

The PhD candidates of the accepted proposals are expected to present their research at the Doctoral Consortium. We welcome submissions representing a broad spectrum of research topics related to BPM. Participants will benefit from the advice of senior researchers in the field and from the interaction with peers being at a similar stage of their careers.


PhD students interested in engaging in detailed discussions on their research at the Doctoral Consortium are invited to submit an extended abstract, which describes their thesis work and in particular provides clear discussions on:

  • The research problem being addressed
  • The research methodology and techniques being applied
  • The solution being proposed and its validity
  • The relation of the work to the state of the art in BPM research

The extended abstract should be discussed with the respective PhD supervisor before submission. It should be written in English using 11pt font and 1.5 line space in maximum 4 (A4) pages. It should be submitted (as a single PDF file) by midnight (EST) by 8 June 15 June 2015 via the BPM 2015 Doctoral Consortium EasyChair Submission Website:

Review Process

Submitted proposals will be reviewed by the Doctoral Consortium Committee. The review of the reported research work in each proposal will take into account its originality, its potential for advancing the BPM field, and whether the work is at a stage where the PhD candidate can benefit from participating in the consortium. Rejected submissions will receive written feedback. Confidentiality of submissions will be maintained throughout the review process.


Authors will be notified of the result of their submission by 1 July 2015. Accepted doctoral candidates will receive instructions on how to submit a camera-ready copy of their proposal, and will receive information on the preparation of the presentation and poster (see “At the Conference” next).
Acceptance to the Doctoral Consortium is an honour. In turn, accepted candidates are expected to fully commit themselves to the success of the consortium by being open to new ideas and suggestions and providing ideas and suggestions to other participants. All accepted contributions will be circulated among the participants about one week before the consortium.

At the Conference

Attendance of the Doctoral Consortium for accepted students on August 30th is sponsored by IBM Research and thus free of charge. Accepted submissions will be presented at the Doctoral Consortium, which is a venue open only to participants. All participants are expected to attend every session of the consortium. Each student will present his or her work to the group with substantial time provided for discussions and questions by participating researchers and other students. Additionally, participants are encouraged to also attend the main conference and will have the option to present their work as a poster (registration fee for the main conference has to be covered by the participants).

Key Dates

Extended abstract submission: 8 June, 2015 – Extended: 15 June, 2015
Notification of acceptance: 7 July, 2015 – Extended: 8 July, 2015
Camera-ready copy: 1 August, 2015

Doctoral Consortium Co-Chairs

Stefanie Rinderle-Ma, University of Vienna
Mathias Weske, University of Potsdam

Doctoral Consortium Jury

Dirk Fahland, Eindhoven University of Technology
Jan Mendling, Vienna University of Economics
Manfred Reichert, University of Ulm
Barbara Weber, University of Innsbruck